

224th Annual Convention Notice of Elections

To: Members of the Clergy and Lay Orders of the 224th Annual Convention

From: The Ven. Calhoun Walpole, Secretary of the Convention

The following positions will be filled by election at the 224th Annual Convention of The Episcopal Church in South Carolina.

Body	Positions	Term
Standing Committee	2 Clergy	3 years
	2 Lay	3 years
Diocesan Council	2 Clergy	3 years
	2 Lay	3 years
Trustee, University of the South	1 Lay	3 years

The nomination deadline is Tuesday, September 30, 2014. Nomination forms may be submitted by email to convention@episcopalchurchsc.org or mailed to the office: PO Box 20485 Charleston, SC 29413

Nomination Forms are be available on the website. Please submit a small high quality photograph of the nominee. Nominees for Standing Committee and Diocesan Council must be confirmed, adult communicants in good standing in this Diocese or members of the clergy canonically resident in this Diocese. Nominators must be members of the Convention (lay delegates or members of the clergy) and the consent of the nominee is required.

Below, you will find the current membership of the bodies listed in the above chart. Sitting members of the Standing Committee and Diocesan Council who are completing a full term are not eligible for immediate reelection. They are identified below by an asterisk (*).

The Standing Committee

Term Expires Fall 2014	Term Expires Fall 2015	Term Expires Fall 2016
* The Rev. Colton Smith	The Rev. Wilmot Merchant	The Rev. Chris Huff
* The Rev. Cn. Michael Wright	The Rev. Calhoun Walpole	The Rev. Jean McGraw
* Hillery Douglas	Erin Bailey	Dr. Frances Elmore
* Rebecca Lovelace	Lonnie Hamilton	Dr. Scott Shaffer

The Standing Committee is comprised of six clergy and six lay members. The Standing Committee's responsibilities are: 1) Act as the Standing Committee of the diocese in accordance with the requirements of the Constitutions and Canons of The Episcopal Church, The Constitution of this Diocese (Article IX), and

its Canons, including giving consents to Episcopal elections elsewhere in TEC; 2) Act as a Council of advice to the Bishop; and 3) Act as Ecclesiastical Authority in absence of the Bishop.

The Diocesan Council

Term Expires Fall 2014	Term Expires Fall 2015	Term Expires Fall 2016
*The Rev. John A. Zahl	The Rev. Mark Brinkmann	The Rev. Al Votaw
*The Rev. Roy Hills	The Rev. Jeff Richardson	The Rev. David Williams
*Dr. Charles Geer	Nancy Bailey	Carol Grish
* Alesia Rico-Flores	Barbara Mann	Jim Gettys

The Diocesan Council is responsible for the development, implementation and oversight of the Diocesan program and budget. Between Diocesan Conventions, the Council functions much like the vestry of a congregation, establishing policies, planning the work of the church, and overseeing its administration.

Trustees of the University of the South

Term Expires Fall 2014	Term Expires Fall 2015	Term Expires Fall 2016
Ann Stirling	The Rev. Cn. J. Michael Wright	Jane Hart Lewis

The University of the South, located in Sewanee, Tennessee, is owned by the Episcopal dioceses of the southeast, each of which elects two lay persons and one member of the clergy to its Board of Trustees. The Trustees meet once each year for two days. Between annual meetings, trustees serve the University by promoting its mission, encouraging enrollment, and supporting it financially.