

#### 226th Annual Convention Notice of Elections

To: Members of the Clergy and Lay Orders of the 226th Annual Convention From: The Rev. Chris Huff, Chair of the Nominating Committee

The following positions will be filled by election at the 226th Annual Convention of The Episcopal Church in South Carolina.

Body	Positions	Term
Deputies to General Convention	4 Clergy (& 4 clergy alternates)	3 years
	4 Lay (& 4 lay alternates)	3 years
Standing Committee	2 Clergy	3 years
	2 Lay	3 years
Diocesan Council	2 Clergy	3 years
	2 Lay	3 years
Trustee, University of the South	1 Lay	3 years

The nomination deadline is Monday, September 12, 2016. Nomination forms may be submitted by email to convention@episcopalchurchsc.org or mailed to the office: PO Box 20485 Charleston, SC 29413

Nomination Forms are available on the website. Please submit a high quality photograph of the nominee. Nominees for Standing Committee and Diocesan Council must be confirmed, adult communicants in good standing in this Diocese or members of the clergy canonically resident in this Diocese. Nominators must be members of the Convention (lay delegates or members of the clergy) and the consent of the nominee is required.

Below, you will find the current membership of the bodies listed in the above chart. Sitting members of the Standing Committee and Diocesan Council who are completing a full term are not eligible for immediate reelection. They are identified below by an asterisk (\*).

Term Expires Fall 2016	Term Expires Fall 2017	Term Expires Fall 2018
The Rev. Chris Huff*	The Rev. Dow Sanderson	The Rev. Mark Brinkmann
The Rev. Jean McGraw*	The Rev. Cn. John Zahl	The Rev. Dr. James Yarsiah
Dr. Frances Elmore*	Doug Billings	Timothy Armstrong
Dr. Scott Shaffer*	Ginga Wilder	Barbara Mann

# The Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is comprised of six clergy and six lay members. The Standing Committee's responsibilities are: 1) Act as the Standing Committee of the diocese in accordance with the requirements of the Constitutions and Canons of The Episcopal Church, The Constitution of this Diocese (Article IX), and

its Canons, including giving consents to Episcopal elections elsewhere in TEC; 2) Act as a Council of advice to the Bishop; and 3) Act as Ecclesiastical Authority in absence of the Bishop.

I ne Diocesan Council		
Term Expires Fall 2016	Term Expires Fall 2017	Term Expires Fall 2018
The Rev. Alastair Votaw*	The Rev. Rick Lindsey	The Rev. Pam Fahrner
The Rev. David Williams*	The Very Rev. Michael Wright	The Rev. Cn. Caleb Lee
Carol Grish*	Sue Cavanaugh	Hillery Douglas
Jim Gettys*	Virginia Weaver	Pam Guess

The Diocesan Council

The Diocesan Council is responsible for the development, implementation and oversight of the Diocesan program and budget. Between Diocesan Conventions, the Council functions much like the vestry of a congregation, establishing policies, planning the work of the church, and overseeing its administration.

## Trustees of the University of the South

Term Expires Fall 2016	Term Expires Fall 2017	Term Expires Fall 2018
Jane Hart Lewis	Ann Stirling	The Rev. Wil Keith

The University of the South, located in Sewanee, Tennessee, is owned by the Episcopal dioceses of the southeast, each of which elects two lay persons and one member of the clergy to its Board of Trustees. The Trustees meet once each year for two days. Between annual meetings, trustees serve the University by promoting its mission, encouraging enrollment, and supporting it financially.

## Deputies and Alternates to the 79th General Convention

Each diocese of The Episcopal Church is entitled to four clergy and four lay deputies at the triennial meetings of the General Convention. Deputies serve three-year terms and are eligible for re-election. The 79th General Convention will be held July 5- July 13, 2018, in Austin, Texas. Expectations will include attending the 2-day Province IV Synod meetings in Spring 2017 (June 5-8) and Spring 2018 at Kanuga Conference Center, as well as General Convention. There will be some diocesan funds available to offset the costs, but additional funds may need to be identified from local parishes and individuals.

### Members of the Nominating Committee by Deanery

Canon 8.2. The ecclesiastical authority of the Diocese shall appoint, at least sixty (60) days before the convening of each annual Convention, a nominating committee composed of one (1) priest and one (1) layperson from each deanery and shall designate the chairman of the committee.

PeeDee – Waccamaw:	The Rev. Wil Keith, Mr. Rick Stall
Charleston Peninsula:	The Rev. Cn. John Zahl, Mr. Timothy Armstrong
West Charleston:	The Rev. Chris Huff, Chair, Ms. Evelyn LeGrand
Southern:	The Rev. Rick Lindsey. Ms. Pam Guess